“Don’t refuse to go on an occasional wild goose chase – that’s what wild geese are for,” said a wise unknown.

There are so many of us who shy away from taking risks. These people spend their lives in a “cozy” little cocoon, preferring even a less favorable situation to the idea of doing something which could or just as well could not improve that situation. It’s true that there are some moments when you can’t really afford to take a risk (e.g. you have a family that depends on you). But in that case we’re talking about a certain type of risks, big ones. So what could be the justification for young people, who should theoretically have the world at their feet and zero obligations? It’s plain and simple – there is none!

Take risks, you guys! Do you really want to be stuck in a rut from so early on in life? Come on, you know who you are: you always go out to the same bar or cafe, you order the same food or drink, you wear the same style of clothing, you read the same newspaper or magazine… Take risks, even if they’re small ones like wearing a different colour T-shirt, wearing a bright shade of red lipstick instead of that boring sheer lip gloss, ordering a glass of whyskey instead of your ordinary beer 😛 , watching an episode of Dexter instead of the usual chick flick…and the list could go on for pages and pages.

Now, I don’t want you to think that I’m instigating you to becoming adrenaline junkies and running after thrills every other day of the week. But the occasional adrenaline rush which comes with doing something uncharacteristic of you will leave you feeling good for quite a while without even realizing why. Saves you money on pharmaceutical pick-me-ups. 😛

I’ve decided to take risks as often as I can. Some bigger, some smaller, whichever come along first. I’ve promised myself to risk on meeting new people, on trusting people, on caring about people. I’ve promised myself to risk on dreaming about happiness, no matter the shape, size or colours it will come in. Being a person who is split between enjoying the life of a couch potato and having momentary impulses to go out and do something crazy, I’m already halfway there. Now I just have to somehow fight off that laziness that so often overcomes me in the face of potential adventures 🙂 Fingers crossed!

“I dip my pen in the blackest ink, because I’m not afraid of falling into my inkpot,”  Ralph Waldo Emerson 😀

