It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey. Well, I’d say it’s not even about the journey, it’s about the people you’re taking it with.

Took a risk this last weekend. Went to Timisoara with people I had only met days ago. To speak the truth, I had met them through a friend of mine, but still…people are surprising creatures 🙂 And it was a pretty big risk since I’m not the most social person in the world. But this time I did what a friend of mine keeps saying, I stepped off the damn sidewalk.

You can’t always stay safe and follow the same route home. Sometimes detours are fun, exciting, surprising in a very pleasant way. Sometimes these detours can turn into a new route home or they can open up new roads ahead of you. It’s true, at times you can just hit another dead end, but that’s the risk factor – a risk can lead to a disappointment or to a huge reward. If you hit a dead end, you can just turn back and go your usual way home. But what if you like the new route? You just might and if you don’t take that risk, you could probably be losing out on some new and impressive scenery.

I stepped off the sidewalk, I liked the detour and now I’m back home with some great memories and hopefully having made some great new friends. The people were the journey. I managed to ignore my shyness, my fear of not fitting in. I could be myself simply because they did not know who I was before this weekend. I could be myself because they didn’t have any preconceived notions about who I had been 5 or 10 years ago. I could be myself and this was the biggest reward of the risk I took last weekend 😀

