Interesting issue to which I would quite like your input: when is it the right time during a new relationship to say I love you?

In a new relationship, it’s always hard to know what is the right thing to say and when is the right moment to say it. And when it comes to saying I love you, the stakes are very high. Is it ok to say it after 2 weeks? Two months? Is there a point after which it’s just a bad sign if you or the other person don’t say it?

For me, saying it was a big deal. Actually, even hearing it was a huge deal. The guy who first said it to me was kind enough to sort of prepare me for the big moment, by dropping some clues a few weeks before actually saying it. But I still froze when I heard it. Don’t get me wrong, it felt quite amazing to hear the guy I cared deeply about saying I love you, but it was still sort of a “what now?!…” moment. So I just didn’t say anything. It took me about 2 weeks of being apart from him and analyzing and overanalyzing everything I was feeling to eventually come to the conclusion that I did love him and that it was ok to tell him that.

For me, the problem was that I am the kind of person who needs to be absolutely, perfectly sure of something before putting it out there into the universe. So I took my time with it. Not to mention the fact that by the time I met that particular guy, I had practically given up on meeting anyone who would be worth saying it to.

So, all you beautiful happy people, you tell me – when do you think it is the right time to say the L word?

