Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Friday morning, 9 o’clock(-ish). Fresh after a night shift and any sane person would want nothing more than to get home as soon as possible and drift off to dreamland curled up under the warm goodness of a puffy blanket. But not me! Oooh, no no no! For you see, when I get an itch, I may be dead tired, but the itch must be addressed properly. Now, before you start imagining all sorts of wrong, I should clarify that I’m merely talking about me getting fixated on watching a certain movie. Of course after watching it I realized I had just wasted a perfectly good 1 hour and a half of my life that I could have used doing something like, I don’t know, actually sleep after having worked all night! But there’s no use crying over spilt milk. Instead, I’ve decided to make the most of that hour and a half by writing this post about it.

I’m probably setting myself up for a consistent amount of hate mail if any of my readers are fans or for becoming a pariah in my office in case my colleagues are readers of my blog. But no publicity is bad publicity, right? (Or so they say)

I got so fixated on watching Twilight (yes, this is the movie I’m talking about) because everybody in my office was talking about it. Most opinions were raves. Mine, not so much. In the spirit of full disclosure, I enjoyed watching the first movie of the saga. It came up with a number of elements of novelty and thanks to this, it was intriguing. The action was fairly well built and the actors put up decent performances. Now, I’m not sure if this is in tune with the evolution of the books, since I must admit I have not read them, but the movies just seem to become more melodramatic by the second, the plot more hare-brained and the acting simply not touching in any way.

The latest instalment of the Twilight Saga just takes the cake. I could tell it was dangerously rolling into the realm of the unbelievable (the unbelievably silly) towards the end of the previous movie. But by the end, this one got me going “Are you for real?…” The entire movie left me with a feeling that they were trying too hard – relying too much on the music to poke out emotions from the viewers, taking the plot to a new level of absurd, while at the same time it seemed like for about 90% of the movie’s length nothing really happened. The acting – the word you’re looking for is flat. The only character who transmitted anything close to real emotion was Jacob (and no, I’m not “team Jacob”).

I can’t say I’m terribly thrilled about the way Bella was portrayed either. I’m on the fence in the whole pro-choice/pro-life debate, but showing her having her life literally sucked out of her by something she’s not even sure is a human being…hmm…Even though I’m much less adamant than she is on a number of issues, I think a friend of mine makes a few really great points about the latest Twilight flick. Take some time to read her.

I’m not sure why I wanted to see this movie so much in the first place, since I knew even before seeing the trailer that I was setting myself up for another Twilight Saga disappointment. It must have been all the talk in the office, or all the articles circulating on the web about it. Love it or hate it, lose sweet sleep over it or not, it certainly got us all talking about it, didn’t it? Ah, Hollywood, damn your lure!

