Tags

, , , , ,


Not having control over the direction my life takes and how events in my existence unfold, well, let’s just say it’s not my favourite pastime. Whose is, for that matter? It’s moments like these when we would do anything to regain at least part of that much desired control that we never really truly have anyway, even the most trivial and mundane things can give us the illusion of being the masters of our own lives.

Some strategies are more exciting than others, some are more commonly used than others: some cook, some clean, some go running or take up any other sport. I personally go for the classics: when my emotional life derails, I work. A lot. There’s nothing better than work to clear your head. It gives me focus. For the general derailments, I resort to cleaning – if I can’t clean up the mess in my life right at that second, then at least I’ll have a nice, clean, tidy house!

Then, of course, let’s not forget the crowd pleaser – avoidance; utter and complete avoidance. /ignore. As simple as that. The bad part is that you cannot avoid the spinning out of control for too long; you eventually get dizzy. This is usually where the cleaning comes in. They say that a clean house is the sign of a wasted life. But if you ask me a good clean up once in a while is great therapy.

