Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Saturday sleep in. Large coffee with milk, no sugar (and I’m using my big, Gilmore Girls-style, red mug, so you can imagine what “large” actually means). A bit of spring cleaning and summer playlist on. Yes, I know it’s soon, especially given the very fickle weather we’re having, but I just can’t wait any longer. Whenever I feel the embrace of the sun, my skin literally starts tingling and my whole being starts buzzing in anticipation for those hot summer days and warm summer nights. Oh, those summer nights!

I’m usually an expert observer of people’s reactions. I’ll have at least a couple people tell you my instincts so rarely betray me that I’ve ended up with the nickname “mama Omida” in some private circles. Yet these days, it’s almost painfully hard for me to understand what people around me are thinking or to piece together what their intentions and feelings might be. Spring is really playing one on me this year and there isn’t much I can really do about it.

So my best efforts actually translate into taking a deep breath and just letting things slide for a while: outbursts from people who are no more than acquaintances, but who suddenly feel like they have the right to yell at me because they’re overbooking themselves, are exhausted and have personal problems (hate to break it to you, sister, but we all have personal problems are busier than we’d like to be!); same old childish snaps instead of true, constructive communication; lack of understanding for the other’s point of view. And I’m baffled, I must admit it; I just end up standing there with a dumbfounded look on my face, because what should I be doing, really?

As much as I may love spring’s scents and colours, all this shifting is tiring me. So I know this might be cliché (see all the FB and Instagram posts along this line), but spring, please be kind to me!

